Spotlight on Karen Thompson Walker’s The Age of Miracles

Today is the publication day for former Simon & Schuster editor Karen Thompson Walker’s debut novel The Age of Miracles.  Critics and readers are calling it THE summer read.  I wholeheartedly agree.

I have read it and am lucky enough to be reviewing this book for the Mobile Press-Register.  Walker combines science fiction and speculative fiction with a coming-of-age story.  The tale is really one huge flashback in which an adult woman named Julia narrates what happened the year she was 11.  Time slows.  At first, it is only minutes; then, it is hours; then, it is days; and, finally, it is weeks that are gained.  The world is in a tailspin, and so are its inhabitants.

Julia tries to navigate her way in a radically changed world.  It is not easy.  Walker takes a somber tone in this dark, gloomy, and very human story.  Julia’s account is an elegy of a lost way of life and of an irrevocably changed world.

The Age of Miracles is my recommendation for the week.  We are talking must-read here.

11 Comments

Filed under books, fiction

11 responses to “Spotlight on Karen Thompson Walker’s The Age of Miracles

  1. I really loved this book when I read it back in February…can’t wait to buy a copy! But what does “aneċe” mean?! I’m still trying to figure out if it was a typo or not….

    My thoughts from Feb are here: http://bit.ly/MrN7aX

    • bookmagnet

      I’ve read the post again and don’t see what you’re talking about? It is a beautiful read!

      • The word aneċe is used in the book and it’s been stuck in my head since I read it. When Julia goes to stay with her grandfather after the car accident, it’s used again there…and memory makes sense, but it could also mean story. Or data…I have no idea! I even messaged the author on Goodreads to see if she would respond…but she didn’t. :(

    • bookmagnet

      Do you know the page number “anece” was on? I got the interview and want to ask about this for you.

      • I was reading a version from NetGalley…it’s expired now so I couldn’t tell you a page number. I just tried to find it in the hardback (our copy came in today) and it looks like it’s been replaced or it was just a typo. Thanks though!

    • bookmagnet

      No problem.

  2. bookmagnet

    Oh! I thought you caught something in my post I didn’t see. Hmmm…I emailed her publicist for an interview. If I get one, I’ll ask her!

  3. I’ve had this arc on my e-reader FOREVER and after so many mind-blowing reviews, I really need to give it a chance. BLEH!

  4. bookmagnet

    Hey, Cassie! Yes, you definitely HAVE to read it. I loved it, even though it was dark and gloomy. It’s probably among my top 3 favorite novels I’ve read this year (so far).

  5. I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this because the word science fiction scares me off, but now I’m rethinking. I love coming of age…

Leave a Reply

