July Fiction–Which will Sparkle and which will fizzle?

Hi everyone!  It’s that time of the month again.  (Can you believe we’re just a few days shy of July already?!)  It’s time for me to unveil the titles I’m excited about for July.  Just like for June, some of these novels will sparkle and some will fizzle.  That’s just how it goes!  I would love to hear which novels you want to read that are set for July release.  If you’ve any of these books already, please let us know your thoughts too.

It came out June 19, but for some reason I had it down for July 2–no matter.  It’s The Infinite Tides by Christian Kiefer.

This is the story of an astronaut who comes home after a lengthy mission on the International Space Station.  His world has been irrevocably altered while he was gone.  I know what has happened to him, but I won’t spoil it.  Read it!

 

Imperfect Bliss is set for a July 3 release and is written by Susan Fales-Hill.  Oprah loved this novel and recommends it for summer reading.  It’s been touted as “Jane Austen meets the Bachelorette.”  Sounds like a riot.

The Woman at the Light by Joanna Brady also comes out July 3.  Here is what Goodreads has to say:  “One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends to the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but take charge of Wrecker’s Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children—and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. “

How intriguing!

I’m very excited about Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce.  Joyce wrote one of my favorite books, The Silent Land.  That was an unexpected and downright creepy tale.  So I’m expecting equally great things from his newest novel.  It comes out July 10.

Carolyn Wall’s Playing with Matches comes out July 10.  A quote from the book intrigues me, as well as the fact that it is set in Mississippi:

When I felt truly lost—which was most of the time—I went out to the narrow lot and sat down in the weeds. From there I could observe both houses. After all, I had two eyes, didn’t I? Two nostrils, two arms, two knobby knees. The trouble was, I had only one heart.

Liza Klaussmann’s Tigers in Red Weather will be published July 17.  This novel demands the full Goodreads synopsis:

“Nick and her cousin, Helena, have grown up sharing sultry summer heat, sunbleached boat docks, and midnight gin parties on Martha’s Vineyard in a glorious old family estate known as Tiger House. In the days following the end of the Second World War, the world seems to offer itself up, and the two women are on the cusp of their ‘real lives’: Helena is off to Hollywood and a new marriage, while Nick is heading for a reunion with her own young husband, Hughes, about to return from the war.

Soon the gilt begins to crack. Helena’s husband is not the man he seemed to be, and Hughes has returned from the war distant, his inner light curtained over. On the brink of the 1960s, back at Tiger House, Nick and Helena–with their children, Daisy and Ed–try to recapture that sense of possibility. But when Daisy and Ed discover the victim of a brutal murder, the intrusion of violence causes everything to unravel. The members of the family spin out of their prescribed orbits, secrets come to light, and nothing about their lives will ever be the same.

Brilliantly told from five points of view, with a magical elegance and suspenseful dark longing, Tigers in Red Weather is an unforgettable debut novel from a writer of extraordinary insight and accomplishment.”

This is one I hope sparkles.  Now for some honorable mentions:

Now it’s your turn.  What will you be reading in July?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “July Fiction–Which will Sparkle and which will fizzle?

  1. I heard tigers in red weather is great!

  2. I love all the summery covers on these books! Just purely on covers I want to read Tigers in Red Weather, Imperfect Bliss and Some Kind of Fairytale.

  3. bookmagnet

    Those are my three favorites too! Hope they are as good as they look.

  4. Great titles. SOME KIND OF FAIRY TALE looks incredible. I will finally be getting to IN ONE PERSON and (hopefully) THE SANDCASTLE GIRLS. I’m always behind on new releases because I’m a library girl.

  5. bookmagnet

    You will to let me know what you think of IN ONE PERSON. I have not read it.

Leave a Reply

