Spotlight on Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann

When I read that Liza Klaussmann was the great-great-great granddaughter of Herman Melville, my heart sank.  I just knew right then that I should not expect anything from Tigers in Red Weather, Klaussmann’s debut novel that comes out July 17.  What mere literary mortal can live up to the ghost of Melville?  Imagine the pressure.

Klaussmann, I’m pleased to say, quickly won me over.  I think Melville would be proud.  Klaussmann plays with shifting perspectives and with time.  The result is brilliant, and I hated to leave her Fitzgeraldian world.

Tigers in Red Weather is full of family secrets, resentments, lies, and even murder.  For me, this is THE ONE book you should read this month even if you don’t read anything else.  Klaussmann is talented–no matter who her ancestor may be.

4 Comments

Filed under books, fiction

4 responses to “Spotlight on Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann

  1. Marjorie Roy

    This book sounds like a fantastic read, I love a good mystery.

  2. I loved this book (my review will go up Tuesday), I think it will definitely be my favorite of the summer.

Leave a Reply

