Gourmet Rhapsody

From http://www.amazon.com

Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery

Gourmet Rhapsody Proust’s infamous madeleine cannot hold a candle to the lush, winsome memories of meals past that you’ll find in Muriel Barbery’s Gourmet Rhapsody. M. Pierre Arthens is France’s premier restaurant critic–so premier in fact that he’s simply called the Maître–and we meet him as he lies in bed, waiting to die. Fervently he mines years of gastronomic delights and discoveries in search of one single flavor, one that he says is “the only true thing ever accomplished.” What unfolds–in vignettes narrated by him and by a chorus of his familiars (most human, some quite comically not)–is a portrait of a man in thrall to the very ingredient that makes French cuisine so inescapably, ecstatically, seductive: It’s not cream, nor cognac, but the cook who defines those glorious tastes. “The only true work of art, in the end,” he says, “is another person’s feast.” Anne Bartholomew

Recommended for fans of Julia Child and readers who loved Muriel Barbery’s The Elegance of the Hedgehog or Chocolate and Zucchini by Clotilde Dusoulier

**

I think I might give this book a try.  Although I was not a fan of “Julie & Julia,” this book sounds promising.  If you’ve read it, please comment about your thoughts.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s