Spotlight on The Twelve by Justin Cronin

The Twelve, Justin Cronin’s second novel in The Passage trilogy, comes out October 16.  This was a featured book at BEA 2012.

 

I have had The Twelve since June but, curiously, have not read it yet.  I devoured The Passage when it was released in June of 2010.  I barely remember the weekend I read it.  All I did was become part of Cronin’s strange world so different from my own.

Could The Twelve live up to The Passage?  That is a question I’ve asked myself over and over during the last few months.  The possibility that it could not meant the novel has been sitting on a table all this time.  In my experience, the second novel in a trilogy is never as good as the first or the last.  There are a vast number of examples: The Hunger Games trilogy, the Matched trilogy, Anne Rice’s witches, and even Fifty Shades.

Here is a synopsis of The Twelve from Good Reads:

“At the end of The Passage, the great viral plague had left a small group of survivors clinging to life amidst a world transformed into a nightmare. In the second volume of this epic trilogy, this same group of survivors, led by the mysterious, charismatic Amy, go on the attack, leading an insurrection against the virals: the first offensives of the Second Viral War.

To do this, they must infiltrate a dozen hives, each presided over by one of the original Twelve. Their secret weapon: Alicia, transformed at the end of book one into a half human, half viral—but whose side, in the end, is she really on?”

But no more.  This weekend, I’m reading The Twelve.  I hope it lives up to expectations.

Now I ask you: Have you read The Twelve?  What are your thoughts on it?

Leave a comment

Filed under books, dystopian literature, fiction, mystery

Leave a Reply

