My Favorite Novels of 2013 (So Far)

The year is now more than halfway over, so yes, I am thinking about the best of 2013.  Here’s my list so far.  I would love to hear from you.  What’s on your “best of” list as of right now?

Jaime’s bookshelf: 2013-favorites

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls
5 of 5 stars
We’ve all known girls like Thea Atwell—girls who made mistakes so big they were sent away, fast girls, precocious girls, daring girls. Thea narrates Anton DiSclafani’s debut novel The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls, an exquisite peri…
Dear Lucy: A Novel
5 of 5 stars

I have never felt fiercely protective of a character before, but the urge to shield Lucy, the main speaker in Julie Sarkissian’s quirky, unique, and weirdly beautiful debut, Dear Lucy, overtook me. And there’s a good reason why: Lucy …

Life After Life
5 of 5 stars

The Greek philosopher Heraclitus (535 BC-475 BC) famously said that you cannot step into the same river twice. Well, he didn’t know Ursula Beresford Todd, the main character in Kate Atkinson’s bonny, daring, and sublime novel Life Aft…

A Tale for the Time Being
5 of 5 stars

The relationship between a writer and a reader is sacrosant. Nowhere is that truer than in Ruth Ozeki’s wildly imaginative, ambitious, and brilliant novel A Tale for the Time Being. Ozeki redefines that sacred link between novelist a…

The Third Son
5 of 5 stars

Rocky Balboa had an anthem, and so did Daniel LaRusso. Saburo, the irresistible protagonist in Julie Wu’s dazzling first novel, The Third Son, does not have an anthem; neither does he have a title nor does he win a championship trophy …

The Painted Girls
5 of 5 stars
During the Franco-Prussian War (1870-1871), the Prussian army laid siege to the city of Paris, cutting off supply lines and transforming the “center of the universe” into a mean, alien environ. It was not long before the stomachs of Par…


goodreads.com
Share book reviews and ratings with Jaime, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “My Favorite Novels of 2013 (So Far)

  1. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    You’ve got a great list there! I’ve read the last 4 that you have listed and I liked them all SO much. One of my favorites from this year is A Constellation of Vital Phenomena..whew. GREAT read 🙂

  2. I have GOT to read A Constellation of Vital Phenomena. I started it and was enjoying it and then picked up something else and never returned to it. Will have to fix that!

  3. Pingback: Fiery July Fiction | Bookmagnet's Blog

  4. joe hall

    I had never heard of that but I just had a quick look on amazon and it sounds pretty interesting. I might give that a try too. I’m currently reading Casualties of War by Bennett R. Coles. I’m almost done and if the last chapter is as good as the rest, this book is going down as scifi read of the year for me. If you enjoy scifi or military fiction or even just a book with strong, relatable characters then you should check it out. Amazing writing. http://www.bennettrcoles.com/works/casualties-of-war

  5. I also looooooved A Tale for the Time Being!!!

    -Rebecca @ Love at First Book

Leave a Reply

