My Favorite Books: Life of Pi by Yann Martel

I have always wanted to share my favorite books and authors with you.  Today’s post begins the first in a series in which I share my all-time favorite and most cherished books.  Think of it as show-and-tell.

First up are some of my most prized bookish possessions: Life of Pi.

Life of Pi is a fantasy adventure novel by Yann Martel published in 2001. The protagonist, Piscine Molitor “Pi” Patel, a Tamil boy from Pondicherry, explores issues of spirituality and practicality from an early age. He survives 227 days after a shipwreck while stranded on a boat in the Pacific Ocean with a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker.

When I love a story, I often seek out different editions of the novel, and that is the case here.

IMGP3814

IMGP3815

My copies are also unusual in that they are more than just signed.  You’ll see.

This is the Advanced Reading Copy.

If any of you happen to have a copy of the ARC, never give it away.  The ARC is noteworthy because it features a rather big misprint.

 

The tiger, Richard Parker, is also called Robert Parker.

 

 

 

Next we have my first edition, first printing copy of the American edition.

IMGP3817

Yann Martel wrote a line from the book, as well as the date.  “I was named after a swimming pool.”  I’m very proud of this one.

IMGP3818

I also own a first edition, first printing printing copy of the Canadian edition.  However, it is not signed.  Can you see my sad face? I hope Yann Martel publishes another book very soon so I can get this signed and maybe more!  And isn’t this such a striking cover?

IMGP3821

IMGP3822

The Canadian edition is the “true” first edition since it was published prior to the American edition.  This edition is unique because it does not contain a crucial line: “And so it goes with God.”  Below is the page from the American edition of the novel.

IMGP3820

Last but not least I have a very special first edition, second printing of the Canadian edition.  I’m very proud of this.

IMGP3824

Yann Martel not only signed the book but he drew a doodle!  I’ve never seen another copy like this…ever.  Here’s a closer look.

IMGP3825

I love to open this up and just stare at it.  I think it’s beautiful.

Yann Martel also added the omitted line “And so it goes with God” on the page in this edition where it belongs.

IMGP3827

I also have the illustrated edition signed by both the author and the illustrator!

Can you tell this is my favorite book of all time?

Thanks for letting me share this with you!

If you have not read this powerful and transcendent story, please drop everything and immerse yourself in this wonderful world.

10 Comments

Filed under My Favorite Books

10 responses to “My Favorite Books: Life of Pi by Yann Martel

  1. Can you believe I’ve never read Life of Pi???? Both of my daughters, even my non-reader, have read it.

    • Patti! Oh my God! Read it! I promise you will love it. There is nothing like reading Life of Pi for the first time. It’s one of those books that mark your soul.

  2. Ha, this is awesome! I looooved that book too 🙂

  3. Okay, you convinced me. My husband read Life of Pi some years ago and enjoyed it. I’m not sure why I never picked it up, but clearly this needs to change. So fun to get a glimpse into your, um, obsession too. 🙂

    • You are going to love it! Your husband sounds like a very smart man. 😀 Yep, now you know about my book obsession. Wait until you see all my Karen Russell books. Ha!

  4. Wonderful post, Jaime! I loved this book too. Thanks for sharing your doodle copy – it is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

