2013 National Book Award in Fiction Longlist

Don’t you just love this time of year?  Awards time!  No, not the Emmys or any of that, but the National Book Awards, of course!

The 2013 National Book Award in Fiction longlist was recently announced.

Here are the novels in contention for America’s top literary prize:

f_silber_fools

f_saunders_tenth

f_pynchon_bleeding

f_mcdermott_someone

f_mcbride_good

f_marra_constellation

f_lahiri_lowland

f_kushner_flamethrowers

f_graver_end

f_drury_pacific

Which of these have you read?  Any surprises??  Any book and author who you believe should have been but was not?

Which do you think will take home the title?  Do you have a favorite among these contenders?

2 Comments

Filed under books, contemporary fiction, Debut Novels, fiction, historical fiction, literary fiction

2 responses to “2013 National Book Award in Fiction Longlist

  1. Jill White

    I read “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena” — gave it only three stars. I stayed with it, but struggled to do so. I loved the “suitcase” (if you’ve read it, you’ll know what I mean) and all it’s literal and figurative aspects, but much of the book dragged for me. Am still waiting for my copies of “The Lowland” and “Someone” to arrive. I’m an Alice McDermott fan, ever since first reading her after I heard Anne Lamott mention her in a reading/talk. Asked what authors she read, Ms. Lamott responded, “I read all the Alice’s — Alice Munro, Alice Walker, Alice McDermott, Alice Hoffman…!”

  2. I myself have struggled with A Constellation of Vital Phenomena. I’m still trying to get through it. I’m surprised that “The Son” did not make the longlist.

Leave a Reply

